Spey Pages banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone had any experience with this large 11/12 arbour reel?
The salesman showed me how the spools are freely interchangeable with an large arbour orvis model double the price.
Hmmmm .................it seemed to balance a 15 foot 10 weight TFO rod quite nicely.
I am interested fishing chum (15-25 lbs)in the kitemat river BC
I am a novice and have yet to purchase my first spey rod/reel.
I am interested in opinions of those familiar with this reel and or rod.
Would this be a wise entry level choice?
Would a 14 foot 9 weight be better choice?
I am past my mid sixties and medium build. Someone suggested that a 15 foot 10 weight might be too much weight for me to handle hour after hour.
Please give me better suggestions for decent quality entry level equipment.
Thank you for your time.
Shrike

·
Registered
56 Posts
The reel is popular here in the UK and I would recommend it. A 14' rod for a 9/10 line would be easier for you hour after hour without doubt. There's very little to choose in distance going to 15' and the weight penalty isnt worth it IMO

·
Registered
234 Posts
Shrike,
I am a fan of these reels. I own a set from the 3/4 up to the 12. My father just passed away and inherited another 12. Last year I landed many fish included chinook salmon in the 30lb class range on this size. The drag is smooth, even when totally wet and a hard running fish. The reel balances well on my 12'6"/6, 13'/7 and a 14'/9 TFO (w/ 200yds 20lb backing). Have used the 9/10 size for salmon and cutthroat trout off the local saltwater beaches. A good wash down and ready for the next time. They also look nice on the rod.

·
Junkyard Spey
7,114 Posts
Would a 14 foot 9 weight be better choice?
I am past my mid sixties and medium build. Someone suggested that a 15 foot 10 weight might be too much weight for me to handle hour after hour.