Spey Pages banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everybody, i have just started fishing my new rod and find myself 2 handed overhead casting most of the time. i use a rio midspey 67 with tip #2 removed. this works all right but seems like it could be better.since i am a rank beginner on spey or 2 hand overhead casting do i just need to practice more with the midspey? the rod is a wonderfull smallmouth pole, i absolutely love it.
Thanks for any help.

·
#&%*@^# Caster
3,058 Posts
My favorite floating overhead line on that rod is the hardy mach 1 8/9. Perfect length for overhead work and it spey casts wonderfully as well. Very easy to throw the whole line.

That is a killer rod.

-sean

·
Registered
12 Posts
I have this rod and I have tied a number of line on it. The Hardy Mach I as mentioned above matches this rod well. For overhead casting I have been using the Airflo Bank Master 7/8 or 8/9 with either a standard leader or with Airflo polyleaders.

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Long belly WF8

Should work well for overhead. I have used the Cortland 444 and the RIO SAS #8.

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
sean said:
My favorite floating overhead line on that rod is the hardy mach 1 8/9. Perfect length for overhead work and it spey casts wonderfully as well. Very easy to throw the whole line.

That is a killer rod.

-sean
This line is also a great match for the Sage 7136-4 'Greenie.' Lovely all day summer run rod/line combo.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
"This line is also a great match for the Sage 7136-4 'Greenie.' Lovely all day summer run rod/line combo."

Fred, what is the weight of this line?

Does it cast better on the 7136 than say the MS 7/8?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #8