Spey Pages banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
JD
3,648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As mentioned on another thread, I have been playing with differing lengths of overhang. Starting with about one foot of line beyond the color change, to have extended beyond the tip top.

I have tried pulling line inside the tip. How to define that? Minus 12 inches, minus 18 inches, minus 24 inches? That didn't work too well. I fact it felt heavier. And the loops, if you could call them that, went all to hell. Wide open. Not to mention problems pulling the anchor loose.

I then started extending the overhang. Eighteen inches worked pretty well. the loops started looking better. And the anchor stayed put. Since then I have extended the overhang even more. Out to maybe two to three feet. It's kind of hard to tell exactly. Light conditions and all.

Mind you, I'm no expert at this. I still have to tell myself "pull with the bottom hand dummy" "this ain't top hand long belly casting" But when I get it right, it's off to the next county. :D

The interesting thing is, I had made up a Skagit head that was about five feet longer than what I wanted. (3X rod length) And it weighed in at 500 grains as opposed to the target 450. But I figured I could always cut it down. So off to the river with it. At first it felt way too heavy. (And why I was pulling line inside the tip top) I kept thinking "take out seven or eight feet of fat line, and add in three or four feet to the back of the front taper"

Next day out, when I started extending the overhang, it no longer felt as heavy and I was tossing some great looking loops,,,,right handed! (I'm a lefty) Not cak handed as Simon calls it. But full on right handed.

I still may cut this line back a bit. But more study needs to be done. Meanwhile, I would like to hear from others on the subject of overhang.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Yesterday, I fished Putah Creek (casted is more like it).