Spey Pages banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to Spey casting, though I have been fly casting for about 7 years.

With practice my Spey casting is improving with my right hand (my dominate hand) on top of the grip. I can manage fishable casts using singles, doubles, and snaps right handed. With my left hand I am not fairing so well. The movements feel so odd; clumsy and exaggerated.

Can anyone offer any suggestions for getting your off hand to work well?

Thank you for your thoughts!

River Rat

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
Practice, Practice, Practice

·
Registered
2,732 Posts
River Rat,
I am highly left hand challenged so as many do, cast with right hand up but over left shoulder - I started a post down in Technique on reverse snake roll that has some good information and a link to a very good video clip of a reverse cast - since I have been practicing this, my reverse casts - snake, reverse snap t and even reverse single have gotten much better though I still need to work on them

Best regards,
Rick J

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Practice + Time

River Rat

Keep throwing in the left hand practice and with time it will begin to come together. Don't just learn to reverse, though that is important too!!!

I find that as my dominant hand gets better, it is also easier to do better with the nondominant hand up. Not good yet, but improving.

·
Registered
141 Posts
do better

I am right handed but cast better with the left hand up. this primarily becaue it is easier for me to put power in with the bottom hand when it is the right hand doing it.

·
Coednakedspey
168 Posts
Maybe it just wasn't meant to be?

You may want to try cross hand/body casting to see if maybe you like it more than off hand/body casting. I found this to be so for myself. I can now cross hand/body cast as good or better than my onhand/body casts.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts