Spey Pages banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Spey game and live in N. CA. Anyone have any suggestions about where to fish? I am used to fishing in the inland waters(Trinity, Hat Creek,Upper Sac. etc.) and I'm not really familiar with other Rivers or parts of rivers. Any info. would be appreciated. Thanks!
Kim:)

·
Registered
2,732 Posts
Kim,
Just about any of the steelhead rivers in N California can be fished with a spey rod - these include the Trinity, Klamath, probalby the Feather and the Smith. Alot of folks fish the Trinity using nymphs and indicators but it is a great swing river and for that matter you can use nymphing techniques very easily with a 2 hander.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Rick,Thanks! I've heard people fish with indicators and a spey rod but havn't tried that. By the way, I work in Rohnert Park and live in San Rafael. Nice to know that I'm not the only one around this area who tries the "other" fly fishing. Mostly I get a :tsk_tsk: reaction when I ask other fly fishers.
Kim

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have 2 Spey rods. A 12 1/2 ft. 6 wt. and a 14 ft. 9 wt. I've fished the E. Walker,E.Carson,Trinity,Hat Creek,Upper and Lower Sac., Yuba,a little on the Feather near Oroville. all single hand fly except I tried the 6 wt. on the Trinity. near Junction City.

·
Mr. Mom
625 Posts
Don't forget your local coastal streams! If you live in Rohnert Park, it's only an hour and a half to the Gualala, a little farther to the other ones... shhh!

The Gualala is the one of two streams I've never been skunked on. Just keep calling the baitshops to find when it is dropping and clearing. And don't join the cluster casts. Keep moving and finding water you can swing your fly in.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
KimK

Your 6 weight should be good for the Trinity and the Yuba.

I like to fish the Yuba from the Sycamore ranch east of Yuba City.