Spey Pages banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I'm another newbie diving into the realm of fly fishing. I was lucky to find this site via Google. Nice place you have here. :)

I'm taking a 2 week trip to my grandfather's place in Oregon next month. He lives in Stanfield, in the northeastern part of the state. Are there any Oregon natives here that could help me find a few spots to begin my adventures in fly fishing? I'm a Southern California resident, and usually go visit my grandfather annually with my family to fish some lakes for trout. That's all been done on spinners or trolling flies, up until now. ;)

My cousin lives in La Grande, pretty close to the Grande Ronde river. I hear the Grande Ronde is a great river to fish. Just curious to find a few places to fish between Stanfield and La Grande.

Fredevans.... can you help me out? I see you live in Oregon and would greatly appreciate the help. I really want to make this trip a productive one. :D

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
Darren, these waters are 350'ish miles from

where I'm at here in Medford (just over the Calif. boarder on I-5). However, call Mark Backman at his shop in Welch's Oregon. He probably has pet names for most of the rocks. Mark's a board sponc. and wonderful guy to work with/fountain if "real time" information.

If he's not up on the area he will know exactly whom you can contact. His store number is 800 266 3971
fae

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
So much water ... so little time. :>)

Darren Evans said:
Where can I stop in Medford to fish on my way in/out during my trip? ;)
Official winter steelhead count is now over (no kidding) 20,000 fish as of early April. Sooo, where, etc., Couple of questions: first is how much time have you got? An hour, a day, etc.

Call me at work at 541 734 2714 or on my cell at 541 944 0404 and I'll cover the ground. Evening # is 541 482 6386
Fred

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5