Spey Pages banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok i'm new to spey casting,I got my first spey rod a couple of weeks ago.
CND Expert 6/7 13' loaded with a W/C 5/6.
First question. On my forward casts I feel like i'm underloading the rod,
i'm getting the line to turn over ok but I can't seem to get line to shoot any distance (maybe five feet beyond the head) any suggestions?

Second question I need a recommendation on tips for the Windcutter 5/6
I will be using the rod at home for bulltrout fast or deepwater area similar to the Southfork of the Clearwater in Idaho.
I've been lurking here for a couple of months.
Now that I have been bitten by the Speybug i'm sure i'll be asking a lot of questions.
Thanks Randy.

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Welcome to the Board

RIO is a site sponsor http://www.rioproducts.com/index.asp and has specs for the appropriate tips for all of their lines.

That said, the lighter spey rods can do well with a skagit head type of system to fish deeper water. That sounds like what you are after.

To improve the casting, get some instruction from a qualified instructor. They can see the little things that make a big difference and help you get on track quickly. Also, get to some claves to get help and try out equipment.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
You need to visit MJC's shop and talk to Kush the CND man on this board

You need to visit MJC's shop and talk to Kush the CND man on this board.

Both gentlemen will help you to find the correct line for this rod or how to cut off about 12-15' of the wimpy tip and replace it with sinking tips or a heavier floating tip.