Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am new to the northwest and just abandoned my 10' #7 Great Lakes Steelhead rod for a two-hander. I aquired (through this site) and Echo Classic 13'6" 8/9, and a Ross Momentum #6 will be here tomorrow. I did a little research and this seems to be a pretty good starter set-up. I just need a line - and I am totally overwhelmed. I want to get a Skagit type set up, and I will be fishing the Deschutes, Sandy and Hood, so I will need at least 2 sink tips for various depths/currents, and a floater for the summer.

I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TO START. Versitip? Windcutter? Custom Tips? I know the previous owner of the rod had a 650 gr Rio Skagit set-up with custom t-14 tips. I don't even know what t-14 is (other than that it is a fast sinking line...) If you all could help me out with a line recomendation that would be wonderful! THANKS! Ross

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
A Rio Skagit VersiTip will give you a skagit spey body (head+running line), a tip wallet, 5' cheater which you may or may not need, and 2 15' sinktips ( a type 6 and a type 8). Add a matched floating skagit tip and you are set to go.

·
Registered
98 Posts
here's what works for me;

I have the same rod and I use an airflo delta 8/9 multi-tip which comes with 4 tips and for winter work I use an airflo NW skagit 8/9 which weighs 530 grains plus tips. I have been using the tips which came with the delta as well as t-8(8 grains/ft), t-11(11 grains/ft) and t-14(14 grains/ft). I have these is 10' and 15' lenghts.
Just what works for me, hope it hepls,
Brian

·
Registered
622 Posts
Where are you fishing? How much room will you have for a back cast? How much line do you want to retrieve?

If you're not going to have a lot of room and want to retrieve line, I'd go with a Skagit or a Scandi (Rio AFS) line. The Skagit has a shorter head, and is better for bigger flies, but can be noisy on the water.