Spey Pages banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Addicted and Avid
583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just starting out with tube flies and have an HMH adapter for my regular vise. I also have 2 mandrels. One is 1/16" and the other is < 3/64" or about .040". My problem is that both mandrels are too big for the plastic tubes and lined aluminum and copper tubes that my kids gave to me.

Does anyone have any ideas for making smaller diameter mandrels that also won't slop or bend down in the adapter?

Thank you.

·
Registered
271 Posts
Not sure what length tubes you have, or how much of the tube you need to tie on. You could just anchor the rear few mm's of your tube in the HMH V clamp itself.

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
Buy some piano wire from your local hobby store.Cut it to length.Bend it slightly near one end .Put in vice.Slide tube onto wire,over the bend.If it doesn't hold put more bend into wire.
Cheers

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
SpeyHermit said:
I'm just starting out with tube flies and have an HMH adapter for my regular vise. I also have 2 mandrels. One is 1/16" and the other is < 3/64" or about .040". My problem is that both mandrels are too big for the plastic tubes and lined aluminum and copper tubes that my kids gave to me.

Does anyone have any ideas for making smaller diameter mandrels that also won't slop or bend down in the adapter?

Thank you.

The cool thing about the HMH adapter is this...just slip the aluminum and copper tubes right into the mandrel collar....it is designed to hold the mandrel, but the metal tubes are rigid so just slip them into the collar as you would the mandrel.