Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused:

I am new to spey fishing, and there is a ton of infromation about it. I have been an avid fly fisherman in Michigan for years. However learning it and getting the basic information about it was alot easier than getting information on spey fishing. I have pretty much used the same style of fishing for steelhead for years, originaly a chuck and duck to nymph fishing with indicator line, and a switch rod. As with most avid fly fisherman, I tend to want to buy the best equipment right off the get go. This has helped me and hurt me in the same, I was able to have great equipment, however my experience didnt. I would like not to do the same in Spey fishing. I would like to know what most good spey fisherman recomend as far as a good entry level set up. Keep in mind I fish the Great Lakes area, and probably one too many fly rods as it is, the wife may go crazy when I tell here I have to buy another 400$ rod. Thanks for shareing your wisdom

Steve.

·
Registered
646 Posts
Steve,
Welcome to the Spey Pages! You'll find a wealth of information on this site and great people willing to help you along your journey.

If I had it to do all over again the FIRST thing I would do is go take spey casting lessons. Find out who the best instructor is in your area and book time with them learning the basics. Once you have mastered the basics try as many combinations as possible and get a feel for what you like. The spey claves are the best venue for doing this. Go to as many of the claves as you can and talk with guys about what they are fishing and then go try them. Only you will be able to figure out what works for you.