Spey Pages banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to the Spey method of flyfishing. I'm interested in getting feedback on what weight and size a good first Spey rod would be. I thought Spey fishing was with heavy weight rods, but obviosly that isn't true since many people have 7/8 weight Spey rods. (I have an 8-weight single-hand Sage, and wonder why I would buy an 8-weight Spey.) Do most of you fish with heavy (such as 10/11) rods, or smaller sizes? I'm a rank beginner and all feedback is much appreciated. Thx, ~J

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
Hi Jim; from one point of perspective.

Pretty 'tough' to equate a single hander to a 2 hander in the same rod/line wt. What rod length/wt you choose has a lot to do with the type of water (width, depth, etc.) that you fish.

If you have to get "one" rod, I'd recommend an 8/9 14' stick. Enough latitude in line wt for larger water as well as narrower stream flows. The 'Euro' rods also allow you to handle tips/sinking leaders with ease. The 8/9's can handle one heck of a large fish and flys up to (my experience) 1/0 or 2/0 done on a 'slim' (not heavily wted) configuration.

I've got three rods in the 10-11 wt and really only use them for the spring King Salmon run here on the upper Rogue. Otherwise, with little exception, they're overkill. And swinging a 15-18 foot 10-11 will give you a he.. of a workout. 9wt's, and down, you can cast all day.
fae

·
loco alto!
2,983 Posts
if you can make the long drive to Portland and the Sandy Spey clave, your questions will be immediately answered. Lots of rod and friendly people willing to show how and let you cast 'em yourself

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Fellas,

Thanks so much for your thoughts, this info was very helpful.