Spey Pages banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if anyone on the forum has had shoulder surgery. Specifically, a total shoulder replacement. I've been putting it off for 4 years now, mostly because I'm a chicken. But it's deteriorated to the point that I can no longer use my bottom hand to cast (or anything else) :frown: . I'm hoping to get one more trip to BC this fall, and then have the surgery in November. Any feedback would be most welcome.
Thanks

·
Registered
65 Posts
I have four screws in my shoulder from a labrum and rotator cuff repair. It's never been the same. I can still fish though, but it does bother me sometimes. Good luck, i wish you the very best.

CDG

·
Registered
939 Posts
Flyguy9 said:
I was wondering if anyone on the forum has had shoulder surgery. Specifically, a total shoulder replacement. I've been putting it off for 4 years now, mostly because I'm a chicken. But it's deteriorated to the point that I can no longer use my bottom hand to cast (or anything else) :frown: . I'm hoping to get one more trip to BC this fall, and then have the surgery in November. Any feedback would be most welcome.
Thanks

I'd be a chicken too. Since, however, I assume you have no choice but surgery, my advice would be to use all the resources available to you to find out which doctors have performed the kind of surgery you require most successfully -- use the Internet, call Mayo Clinic etc. and ask. Have one of those doctors perform the operation even if it means travelling. You want a "practiced" physician, not one who is "practicing".

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
It's really amazing what they can do nowadays. Just think of all the atheletes and the phenomenal recoveries they make after surgery.

I would be chicken too but if it meant fishing or not it wouldn't be a hard choice.

·
Registered
498 Posts
surgery