Spey Pages banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey fellas, as the title suggests Im looking for some opinions on a new TH for trout. Im still new to the game but am enjoying it immensely. I currently own the redington dually 7130 which I use OH for the salt (unsuccessfully anyway) and I built up the anglers roost 11' 2/3, which with a scandi line from steve is FANTASTIC for dries. That is currently my trout rod, however Id like to be able to throw some heavier flies and/or indicator rigs. I guess im looking for TH equivalent to a SH 5wt. Any ideas?

·
Registered
170 Posts
Hey fellas, as the title suggests Im looking for some opinions on a new TH for trout. Im still new to the game but am enjoying it immensely. I currently own the redington dually 7130 which I use OH for the salt (unsuccessfully anyway) and I built up the anglers roost 11' 2/3, which with a scandi line from steve is FANTASTIC for dries. That is currently my trout rod, however Id like to be able to throw some heavier flies and/or indicator rigs. I guess im looking for TH equivalent to a SH 5wt. Any ideas?
If you like the ARE 11 2/3 (as I do) and you've already proven you can build, why not go with the ARE 12 3/4? I'm building one this winter on that very logic ...

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I had been looking at another ARE rod as that definitely helps budget in for a reel and line, But due to the roost blanks disparity in its labeled wt vs measured wt I wasnt sure which way to go. I have heard good things about 12' 5/6 being close to a real 5 wt, so if anyone has any hands on experience Id love to hear it.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Not sure if you've seen the article about the UHM12 A.R.E. rods, but it has a little chart with grain windows for all of the 2 handed rods. This might help your decision as to which blank to use, it helped me out.

http://theanglersroost.com/products...igh-modulus-spey-rod-13ft-4pc-78wt-19-handle/