Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been tying for a couple years now off an on, mostly during the winter. I started tying some classic Steelhead hairwings this fall and really enjoyed it so I've jumped full scale into it. I've always been intrigued by the classic Salmon flies and I'm working my way there! For now here are some classics and a couple I came up with. Tips, criticism, etc always appreciated.

·
seaterspey
2,198 Posts
First off welcome to the jungle!:Eyecrazy:

It's very addicting but oh so fun to do.

The one thing I would say is to keep tying, the more you tie the better you get. You learn to get the heads a little smaller and neater. The only thing that I saw on the last two were to go a bit sparser, less is better. With all the great tiers on here you have a wealth of information to soak up.

Thanks for sharing I would fish any of those with great confidence!

Just keep tying.

KC

·
Dedicated Fisherman
3,262 Posts
Hello,

First post I've seen from you and I can see you've got the bug. Fly number 2 looks quite familiar and I use them for salmon here. You'll no doubt be able to refine your style just by looking at all the wonderful flies the fellows here post. Welcome to the Hooks feathers & Floss Club :)

Ard

·
Administrator
18,151 Posts
Those will hunt :)
Practice is the best teacher , I think you are doing fine .
Try not to over dress your flies , you did a good job keeping proportions on these .

Welcome to the coolest flytying forum on the internet :)

Mike

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys, comments much appreciated. This is by far the best fly tying forum I have found on the net, bonus it happens to cater towards classics.