Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am trying out spey fishing and just purchased a 9/10 14' CND Expert and tried it w/ the 8/9 Delta Spey floating that Redshed suggested I use w/ this rod. I am studying the Rio International and the Hazel's video's and tried my hand on the river twice.

I want to get a multi-tip set-up for Steelhead on the Clearwater and liked Air Flo's when I tried it with single hand casting for winter steelhead on the Grande Ronde. I didn't like Rios' version as a friend and I both had trouble w/ the Rio's stiffer loops not wanting to go through the guides very easily (could be trouble w/ the final stages of landing a fish..)

What weight Air Flo multi-tip line should I be getting w/ this rod? the 8/9 like Mike sent or the heavier 9/10?

PS- if any of you know or are a forum member that live near Sandpoint Idaho that could give some Spey casting tips, it sure would be appreciated!

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
Hey promtbr...

Simon's line list recommends the 8/9/10 WC as being right for that rod and a newer caster. He is usually dead on in his choices. The 8/9 Delta is very close to the same grain weight. The two lines are also very close in casting weight on Peter's chart.

If you like the way the 8/9 casts on that rod then why get a different weight for using tips? If you don't like they way that line works then I want to get you something that will work, for you. Spey tackle that doesn't work does neither of us any good.

If you don't like the Rio loops you most likely will not like the Airflo loops any better. For fishing the Clearwater a sinking poly leader right off the line tip seems to work pretty good but learning to cast the floater first is the way to go.

If you let me know when you are coming down I will meet you somewhere on the river to help you. As for casting advice keep watching John and Amy, paying attention to the Double spey and the Circle C and practice, practice, practice.

·