Spey Pages banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this forum but expect this topic is not new to regular users. Apologies if I am going over old ground. I have been fishing with a single hander for many years and am reasonably proficient. I've recently taken up spey casting and am not comfortable with my outfit despite lessons and time on the water (even catching the odd fish! For the record I am fishing for salmon in Europe and steelhead/salmon back home in BC). I am using a Sage 9140 9 wt with an 8/9/10 Rio Windcutter line. I am finding shooting the line very difficult and have had experienced ghillies/guides comment on how unweildy this set up feels to them (Should it?). Maybe it is just me or maybe I am overgunned - it certainly feels like the rod is loading heavy. Dunno. I'd appreciate any thoughts on lines for beginners or whether I should persevere with this line until I 'get it'. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Did Sage finish your rod or did someone else?

Beachcomber said:
I am new to this forum but expect this topic is not new to regular users. Apologies if I am going over old ground. I have been fishing with a single hander for many years and am reasonably proficient. I've recently taken up spey casting and am not comfortable with my outfit despite lessons and time on the water (even catching the odd fish! For the record I am fishing for salmon in Europe and steelhead/salmon back home in BC). I am using a Sage 9140 9 wt with an 8/9/10 Rio Windcutter line. I am finding shooting the line very difficult and have had experienced ghillies/guides comment on how unweildy this set up feels to them (Should it?). Maybe it is just me or maybe I am overgunned - it certainly feels like the rod is loading heavy. Dunno. I'd appreciate any thoughts on lines for beginners or whether I should persevere with this line until I 'get it'. Thanks.