Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wonderful fiance bought me a Spey Rod for Christmas. Was I surprised. But I think it it too much rod for what I need. She bought me a SAGE 10151-4. Now I have never used a Spey rod before, casted a few time, but nothing I would say to make me experienced. So I would consider me a true beginner. After talking to the flyshop where it was purchased, the owner was surprised that I would have chosen that rod too. I mainly fish smaller rivers, but would like something that I can take when I fish a larger river. My local rivers are the Lower Sac, Feather, Trinity and Klamath. I have fished the Rogue and want to eventually learn the Umpqua and Deschutes. I wan tto leave my options open to fish any river. What I am looking at now is something like the SAGE 9140-4, 9141-4 and the Loop Blue and Green 9140's. Do you think these are still too much, or would they work for a beginner in hope of becoming proficient in spey casting. The Loops are considerably less than the Sages and feel that for the amount of time I would use them would be a better value. I am also condiering matching it with a Bauer M6SL and a Rio Mid Spey Versa Tip system. What do you all think? Sorry for the long post.

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
My .02 cents only on this one.

The 10 wt 15' foot Sage may be 'over kill' for much of the water(s) you're looking at fishing. A rod in the 15' range is not a bad thing, but a 10 wt may be too much for a 'beginners rod.'

Personally, I've never used a Loop rod but the Board is repleat with folks who have and all rave about the rod(s). Ditto the T and T's and Scott rods. If your 'set' on a Sage I'd recommend you consider the 9150-4 as it's far lighter than the 10wt, will cast a dry line, or tips a mile, fast action, etc., and etc.