Spey Pages banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day to the Clave......I am just in the process of buying my first Spey rod and reel....An Orvis Trident 12'6" 8/9 weight rod and a Battenkill Large Arbour VI......I am new to Spey, however have been fly fishing now for in excess of 30 yrs.....I am what I would call a somewhat proficient caster and can easily throw a single hander 9/10 weight line about 70 feet....incl sink tips and loop on sinking heads......O should mention that I am planning on using 35lb. Gelspun for backing. I am planning on a floater for the first line......any recommendations are much appreciated.

Should I buy a floater or should I go with a multi tip set up....I have made up my own tips before for the Dean and had no problems...wondering if I should save my money and pass on the multi tip and make my own with the straight floater?

Sorry carried away with the questions...so much to learn ,so little time.

Thanks and best regards......Jake

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Norseman, Jake

You may have a balance problem with that BKLA VI reel which is heavier than the rod without the backing and line. You might be better off with the BKLA V, and it is on sale now. The BKLA VI weighs 9 and 7/8 ounces without backing or line. The BKLA V weighs 7 1/2 ounces which is closer to the weight of the rod you want.

I have a BKLA V and it is a great reel with incredible pickup speed. It will hold about 200 yards of the spun gel backing and WC 678 or the MS 6/7 Floating line. It is too light for my Sage 7141 and balances my Sage 7136 perfectly.

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Grandpa Spey

Thanks for the response.....will the BKLA V hold an 8/9 midspey with enough backing?

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Norseman