Spey Pages banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just starting out to learn to tie classic salmon fly and decided to invest in a Jungle Cock neck. I received it in the mail a few days ago but was rather disappointed that about 80% of the nails were "split" (see photo below). Is this normal for a neck? Is there any way to repair the "split"? I tried to rejoin them like "marrying wings" but that did not work. There are less than 20% of the nails usable as it is... :( Any advise would be appreciated.

·
Registered
ACR, Echo DHII, Danielsson, Leland, Hardy, Rio, Airflo
3,694 Posts
DID You

Purchase through PP and have a pic of a non tattered neck, what was the price and description

Sorry to hear your plight... You can repair nais with a light coat of laquer...

Labbourus with that many You tube will show you

If you paid for a high quality neck and received garbage please share the seller

Again sorry to hear

·
Premium Member
1,447 Posts
In my area, a prime JC neck with minimal splits and nice color sells for $150.

Yours can be repaired and will make fine fishing flies.

Regards,
FK

·
Registered
ACR, Echo DHII, Danielsson, Leland, Hardy, Rio, Airflo
3,694 Posts

·
Registered
1,434 Posts
honestly if you are just starting and planning to fish what you tie I really wouldnt worry about split nails, trust me you are going to have many other difficulties coming up that will be much more crucial to learn! Its hard to say but I doubt I have ever had a fish turn back last second because of a split nail

·
Registered
3,297 Posts
I use split nails all the time, as I only tie for fishing. They are going to get split wince they swing for awhile, but just like the other feathers, if the fly is well tied, it all flows together and makes a nice presentation.

If you run the back side of your feather over your dubbing wax, then slide it through a gently pinched finger and thumb, it will often join up enough to get you through the tying.

·