Spey Pages banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
I need a light and relatively quick rod with the following specifications. I would appreciate if you have any recommendations. Your personal anecdotes or experience are most welcome.

Length: 14' to 14'6"
Line WT: true 7wt or 8wt (do not want a 8wt that behaves like a 9wt. Will also consider 6/7wt or 7/8 wt)
Price: lower the better
action: relatively deep flex with quick recovery
line choice for this rod: would like to use NextCast Winter Authority 55 or longer and Ballistic Vector or Older Delta Long

thanks for your help,

rw.

·
flailing less
490 Posts
Some folks don't necessarily think of "quick recovery" rods in the same sentence with "long belly lines" (the original Echo DH rods in your length were designed for Delta longs), but I'm no expert that's for sure. PM sent anyway...

·
Registered
5,420 Posts
A CFB 7141-4 blank would fit the bill nicely. You mention a true seven weight: The FF 5/6 and the Delta Long 6/7 are two nice lines on there. The FF is 460 grains and the DL is approx. 510 at 55 feet. It is a 7 weight rod.

With components of your choosing it can done for a fraction of the standard Classic-build and the blank will have the same CFB warranty for life...

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
Cfb 7141-4

The CFB 7141-4 is a superb casting rod,the Airflo Delta Long 6/7 is absolute(and I'm not exaggerating)....simply magic on this rod...the guys at Burkheimer must have used the Delta long 6/7 when they designed the 7141-4. This rod and line combo take effortless and tight loops to a entirely different level!!!!

Cheers,

WB.

·
registered text offender
1,408 Posts
8142 burkie is also very nice. just picked up a rio mid spey that wants to sing(need more practice). very nice w/ 510 scandi and nextcast also

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
Give Steve Godshall a call!