Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Spey Apprentice
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all:

i'm fairly new to the spey end of fly casting, i'm looking for advise towards a set-up. here's what i have in mind. casting to Salmonoids off rivermouths (freshwater) to staging (spawn ready) fish entering the many great lakes rivers and tributaries. these will include Chinook (pacific strain) Coho's, Rainbows and Brown Trout in the 6-30lbs+ class. i'm not sure if i need a smaller line class or up near of #9/#10Wt? most of these fish are still "chrome" and my theory of thinking would be to toss baitfish imitations into the surf for these staging fish.

i was thinking of a European action, as i don't need to make huge line mends rather just punch out some line and strip it in (the odd mend for current changes) so i was thinking the faster euro tapers, and an overhead cast. i was also thinking of using this set-up for Stripers off the Ma. coast and would or could i get away with a set-up for both? (i've recently read an article on two-handed rods for salt applications)

thank you in advance for any information, greatly appreciated

Merry Xmas :D

·
Registered
1,297 Posts
well,you're all over the board as far as intent,,i recomend perusing the board here and look at what others in your area are using,,most folks use different rods for a six pounder versus a thirty,so ,get about four rods and start wailin',,,:hehe:

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
Wow!! 'A man for all Seasons,' fish wise.

First, welcome to the Board and your first post.

IMHO, the spread of fishing your suggesting would require more than a single rod. Just 'one' would be too heavy/too light for all the applications your suggesting in you initial post.

But, my thought for the river application would be the R. B. Meiser' (Bob M) new 7-8-9. This is an all-round rod that will handle just about anything you'll hook in a river ... short of 'Namu.'