Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Kent
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am new to spey casting and am putting together my first spey system. Lots to learn for me. Very fun too.

I have a 13 ft 2 handed 7 weight rod and will use a Skagit max 525 grain head. Will mostly be fishing for steelhead in Michigan and an occasional trip to BC. Mostly swinging flies on medium sized rivers in the midwest.

I think the next step is to get medium MOW tips. I know rio sells a MOW package of 6 tips. Wondering if I need to get the package or just a few individual tips or possibly some other sink tip entirely.

What would you experienced spey cast fishers recommend?

thanks for any advice,

Kent

·
Registered
259 Posts
I'm a big fan of the OPST Commando Tips. You can get the three pack, or buy them individually, but I believe they simplify the choice of tip for a given spot.

Given your rod, I would recommend the 132 grain 12ft ones. They are labeled "riffle", "run", and "bucket"; which are pretty self explanatory.

·
Wandering the Driftless
20 Posts
I've found MOW tips hard to find stocked in various fly shops. I'm using the T11 medium ones and have been happy with them so far.

Other than the OPST commando tips, is there some competitor that is more popular, easier to source than the RIO MOWs that I'm naively unaware of?

I have started to use a little 4-6" loop to loop junction of 40# mono between the MOW tip loop and the tippet to keep the 0X or less tippet from cutting into the MOW tip loop too much given the big diameter difference.

·
Broken Down Spey Freak
2,319 Posts
It all depends on the water your fishing and they type of fly you tie on. Deeper faster water and cold weather will require a heavier tip. A weighted fly may allow for a lighter tip.