Spey Pages banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Bamboo Rod Maker
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know the forum says Hooks, Feathers, and Floss but, here is some Hair. I got the hook part right.

This is a simple mouse pattern that was brought to me from Alaska many years ago. I have no idea how many of these I have tied for customers going to Alaska and for night fishing for brown trout. My guess is close to half a deer hide or more. This bunch ate up about 20 square inches of deer hide. Most of the hair itself ended up in the trash.

Thanks for looking,

Jerry

·
Dom
3,156 Posts
Nice pets! I bring my tying outside when im using hide... that stuff is nasty!

This is going to be my first year mousing in MI and im super psyched about it :D

What lines do you use to toss these? I just cut up my 7wt Ambush to 18' + 5' Airflo Salmon floating polyleader. Single hand skagit sorta speak... works great!

Do you strongly believe those stingers give you better hook ups? Im new to this whose mousing thing please educate me :D

·
Bamboo Rod Maker
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Mouse

What lines do you use to toss these? I just cut up my 7wt Ambush to 18' + 5' Airflo Salmon floating polyleader. Single hand skagit sorta speak... works great!

I use an 8' 6 weight rod with an 8 weight Rio nymph taper line. You are not casting very far and the heavy line will move deer hair around very well. Same setup for bass fishing

Do you strongly believe those stingers give you better hook ups? Im new to this whose mousing thing please educate me

The short shank hook does not get dislodged so easy as a long shank hook. Hemostats don't ruin the fly when removing the hook either.

Out of curiosity - What thread do you use for stacking and spinning?

These are tied with 100 denier gel spun.

chartreuse...

In 2005 I tied 8 dozen of these in four colors, Chartreuse, pink, black, and natural. I also tied 8 dozen pollywogs in the same colors. These were for the same gentleman and his friends.

Jerry