Spey Pages banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Switch and Spey rods.
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What would you say is the most versatile rod weight taking all flyrod types into consideration (spey,double overhead,single overhead). I'm thinking 8 weight would cover the buggest variety of fish (in fresh water).

·
Registered
267 Posts
One for All

I would say that if I could only pick one weight class for everything. Salmon, steelhead, spring, summer, winter, fall it would probably be a 9wt.

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
I've been fly fishing for 46 years and have fished for nearly all freshwater game fish from pike to steelhead in that time, and I have been using a 2-hand rod for the last 13 years. I personally think you must have a different line wt rod for an "all-around rod" for single and 2-hand rods because you are asking the rods to do somewhat different things.

IMO, a 7 wt is the most versitile in a single-hand rod. It is a bit heavy for small tippets and flies; however, if you lengthen the leader to 12' when fishing flies smaller than #16, you can still fish them without popping leaders. A 7 wt also allow you to fish fair-sized flies (you can cast flies of 1/0 or even 2/0 if you must on it) when targeting the larger fish like pike. It has enough backbone to cast wind resistent surface bugs for bass and pike. It has enough butt strength to help in landing fish above 8 or 9 pounds. Finally, you can find all sink rates in tips or shooting heads in a #7.