Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to set up my switch rod. I am going to get a skagit head but not sure on the running line. I see a lot of people using mono but my question is doesn't mono wear out the snake guides on the rod?

Also is running line and shooting line the same thing?

As you can tell I'm new to this...

Thanks for any input!

·
Undertaker
1,367 Posts
Slick shooter

I use oval mono running line called slick shooter during the winter. I have seen no evidence of it wearing the line guides, but there is only load on the line when fighting a fish, so unless you are a fish catching machine, guide wear is a non-issue. The only issue I have with it is memory. One MUST spend the time to run the running line through a rubber straightener prior to fishing. And it picks up that same memory virtually overnight, so you have to straighten it each and every time. The best running line I have used is miracle braid. It costs three times what slick shooter costs but it has zero memory.

·
Registered
328 Posts
OPST lazar line is SO sweet. Finally got some last week, fished it over the wknd...oh my! Took a couple friends to convince me to try it and a single cast to convince me of their wisdom. Nice price point too, you won't be disappointed.

·
Bamboo Rod Maker
334 Posts
Running line

Give Trilene Big Game in 30# or 40# a try. Low cost, You can stretch the kinks out of it, Easy to grip. Be sure to clean whatever mono you choose.

I am using 40# Trline Catfish line and it seems to be working ok for me.

Jerry

·
Registered
581 Posts
I personally like using the Rio Connectcore through the winter. used several different mono types over the years and this stuff is by far my favourite. Its more like a thin fly line but also has no stretch meaning you feel everything through the swing from light taps against objects or by fish to heart racing line ripping grabs :D