Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Matching Line for Sage 9150-4 (green blank)

I am a beginning spey caster and am looking to match a interchangeable tip line with this rod. I have tried the Windcutter 8/9 and Airflo Delta 8/9 (not the Delta long). I researched around enough to know the Windcutter is 10 grains heavier in head weight and longer by about a foot. So far, my beginner's cast tends to favor the Airflo Delta. If it matters, I have lots of casting experience with a single hand rod.

In the hands of a very experienced fellow caster here at the GGACC casting pond facility, the rod handles both lines equally well. The rod also casts the Windcutter 9/10 fine, but the spey guy doing it said the airealized line falls too quickly once cast at distance. So . . . so far, the rod tends to perform best with a 570-600 grain line, even with very experienced spey casters, and Sage rates this a #9 rod.

My question is to anyone who owns or has used this rod up in the big country, on-streams, which line you kindly recommend--Windcutter or Delta? And as a beginner, would learning to cast with these shorter heads teach me merely to "lob" a line? How would learning with these lines affect me later down the road?

Second, I would like to get a longer bellied line soon after possibly, and if I did, which line would you recommend? The Delta Long 7/8 (580 grains) or the Midspey 7/8 (560 grains). The next sizes up in this class are really heavy, and as I mentioned the rod just doesn't seem to do well with anything over 600 or so it seems.

Ahab

·
SRO Direct Dealer
578 Posts
Go with the WindCutter

then you can purchase the upgrade #2 tip and have your MidSpey. Much more economical than buying two lines.

Rich

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
This blank has moxie! And then some.

This is one of my primary winter run rods for heavy tip work.