Spey Pages banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. THis is my first post here so I hope I'm in the right area. My wife and I are planning a trip to Alaska next year and I'm considering a new reel for the salmon fishing I intend to do while we are there. I have one that will work, an Old Florida, but I'm looking for something lighter and with a true large arbor design. So, I'm thinking of the Loop Evotech LW, either a 6nine or an 8eleven. I have a few questions I hope some can help me with. I plan on using the reel on my 9' 8wt. single hander and even though I am not into spey casting right now (I'm rather new to fly fishing in general) I would like to be able to use the reel on a spey rod in the future. Which size would be better suited to these uses? Is there much backing capacity difference between the 8eleven and the 8twelve (the 8eleven has better looks :rolleyes: ) and would it make much difference on a salmon reel? And what are your thoughts / experiences with the Loop reels in general? Any comments and suggestions are much appreciated!

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Welcome Benny,

If you were going to stick with the single hander I would say the 6nine would be ample, however if spey is in your future I would definitely suggest the 8eleven. Spey lines are much thicker than single hand lines - you will need the space.

I fish the 8eleven and it is truly awesome - it is a treat to fish and very cool to look at. And should you not take up the double-hander (I recommend that you do) it is still not too much reel for a big single-hander.

·
Registered
646 Posts