Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Before posting this (my first on this site), I searched the various past posts to see if my question could be answered. I failed to find one that was helpful. My question is this:

I recently bought a Loop Greyline 13' 9/10, a matching Quattro line and a 3W reel. Is this reel an appropriate match for the rod/line? I am new to spey fishing so I honestly don't know much about the reel's capacity in relation to the Quattro line. I own many other Loop reels (including the smaller Traditionals) for my trout and grayling fishing, and have had no problems with spool space. I really liked the idea of a dragless reel for my salmon spey rod, as it is a classic setup. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Chris

J

·
0 Posts
The 3W is right at the lower end of acceptable capacity. A lot depends on how much backing you need for the rivers you fish. If you need more than 100yds or so you'll probably want to look into using 50lb PowerPro or some similar GSP backing. I have my 9/10 Quattro on the new CLW 8twelve, which has a deeper spool than the 3W and therefore would hold about 100yds more backing (30lb dacron) and I still decided to go with PowerPro. The Traditional you need is the #4, which is no longer made, but can be found occasionally on the secondary market. Perhaps Grandpa Spey has an extra one he'd sell you.

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Hi Chris.

I too have the Loop 3W and I have it spooled with 200 yds of 50lb gelspun backing and a Midspey 9/10........it fits.....but just. I am sure that if I had used 30lb gelspun the fit would be better. But it does work.

Paul

Love the Loop by the way

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Careful

if you choose to use the GSP, especially the 30#. It can cut like a knife.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Backing...