Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all-
I'm new to the spey game and I have several questions. First, can I get some imput on the Loomis GL3 speys, especially regarding the type of action it has, its suitability for a beginner, and its overall quality compared to other speys? Second, I unfortunately don't live near any salmon/steelhead rivers, and I don't fish one particular river or river system all of the time (though I do go steelhead fishing three to four times a year). For that reason, I need a versatile rod-- i.e. one that would be of use in the Pacific Northwest and the Great Lakes. I've been fly fishing long enough to know that there are precious few jack-of-all trades rods, but I would like my first spey to be as unspecialized as possible (maybe the spey equivalent to a 8'6'' 5 weight trout rod). That said, what would you suggest? I will add that most of my fishing will be done in the late spring-fall. Finally, as a beginner, would you recommend a rod with an overhead action, or a traditional action? I have always fished with my beloved Scott ARC single-handed rods, and most of my fly rods, other than my saltwater gear, are on the medium to medium-fast side of things, but I'm not sure that my single-hander experience translates to the world of long rods.

I'm sorry about the long (longwinded?) post; any help/guidance will be greatly appreciated. Thanks, and Tight Lines!

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
I use a Loomis 8/9 gl3 as my primary

light tips rod for both summer and low water conitions. Add to that larger/heavier flys. The rod is a 'fast' aka stiff progressive 'european' action rod that will fling either the 8/9 XLT or comparable RIO aclrtr a mile. (First rod; then you may want to consider one of the RIO tri-tip lines).