Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been tying a while, but I'm new to spey flies for swinging. Last year I tied a lot of larger marabou/ostrich/arctic fox patterns and like them but I want to get better at smaller size 4 to 6 spey flies and have at least ONE confidence fly. This is my first attempt. Looking for honest feedback.

Thanks!
Peter

Attachments

·
Premium Member
886 Posts
PF, I am not the guy to offer much of a critique of your fly but will say I generally like the proportions, would like to see more body thickness on the shank and less happening underneath. I think if the brown hair underneath were lessened or eliminated, the fly as tied would catch fish. Try to think of how the fly is going to track or swim through the water. Materials placed in streamline positioning will naturally swim better. I personally have found that the best way to learn is from my mistakes. I have and continue to make plenty of flies that I end up being rejected. When I have asked for advice here on the forum and gotten it, I take it all as constructive criticism being offered by tiers that are much more knowledgeable and skill than myself and have then tried to incorporate it in my tying. And, most important of all, have fun doing it!

·
Registered
444 Posts
Confidence Fly

If I understand your post you are looking to tie a size 4 or size 6 spey fly that you would feel confident in swinging. Are you fishing for salmon or steelhead? Is the river that you are targeting typically run low and clear? Does the water have a tint or color to it? All those things factor into a fly selection.

As a learning exercise I think I would recommend tying a Mahoney from Dec Hogan. You can vary the colors in the fly to suit what color you have confidence in. Dec and Marty put out a DVD that covers tying that fly, along with several others. I would highly recommend that DVD to you.

Mark

·
Registered
1,122 Posts