Spey Pages banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
just say no to bait
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Being a huge fan of short head lines I thought I would try and change my evil ways.

I went out casting with my new accelerator. Things went OK but could have been better. Double spey casts beyond 90 feet were very difficult and I usually ended up piling the line in a heap about 70 feetout.

Snakerolls went much better but still inconsistant.

How much line should be out when beginning the cast?
How long should the pause be on the backcast?
Is shooting line a possibility or should I give up that notion?
What is a reasonable expectation for distance?
The kit: Winston DB fave 9/10 Rio Accelerator10/11.

Advice, tips, and tricks all appreciated

Thanks N I

·
Here we go again!
620 Posts
I have no experience with that line, but I know that when you throw a true long belly line like an xlt or a grandspey you really have to extend the stroke. That comfortable short stroke you use on short and even mid lenght heads will not work. You need to extend the rear stroke well back and up with a postive stop and have a nice long slowly accelerating forward stroke ending in a good underhand snap with a hard stop. Be happy with 80 to 90 feet and worry about form, not distance. If it rolls out nicely at 80' work to replicate that cast over and over. Think high hard stop to form a good D loop and thats half the battle. I work on this several times a week, it's the regimen my instructor is having me work on and is progressing well. It is much more difficult than throwing short heads, but rewarding. Try working with less line (60') out at first and the frustration will decrease significantly. ;)

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
NI,