Spey Pages banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
LL bean has some new rods, the Streamlight series, available in 7/8, 8/9, and 9/10. Complete set-ups include reel, SA Mastery Spey, backing, leader...

AND the ad copy says these rods work as both Spey and over-head casters.

Anyone try these yet?

I'm new to the board--found it through flytalk--and have been "gifted" a budget for my first spey rod. I look forward to your answers!

Thanks!

Tom

·
Relapsed Speyaholic
5,532 Posts
Tom,

Welcome to the site. I have no experience with Bean rods nor do I remember much buzz here about them but I am sure some of the regulars can point you in the right direction. Since you are local to Seattle might I suggest driving out to Carnation for one of Speybum's Saturday mornings on the water or coming up to Kaufmann's get together in a couple weeks on the Sky. You will get a chance at either to cast a number of rods and decide what works for you. Depending on what you find, another suggestion is getting in touch with Mike at Redshed and seeing about demoing a rod. No matter which way you go, you have some very savvy resources/shops that also happen to sponsor this fine site.

sinktip

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, Sinktip!

Yes, I am aware of the Saturday thing in Carnation, and as soon as my schedule permits, I'll be out there.

I had the pleasure of fishing with Juro Mukai (the CND rep) on Cape Cod last October... and the pleasure of fishing with both of the Atlantis series rods. I look forward to trying some their spey rods, too.

The Bean rods caught my eye when I saw the latest catalog. I did a forum search here, but nothing came up.

Tom

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Loved both of them, especially since I'd never thrown a two-hander, and in the sideways remnants of hurricane Jeanne, no less!