Spey Pages banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting close to purchasing a new rod. Well, really, a new rod and line system. My favorite fishing is summer steelhead with waking flies. My flies are somewhat wind-resistant muddler/bomber variants. What are the favorite lines for this type of fishing to keep line rating down and still turn over the wind-resistant flies?

Line/rod will probably be something in the 7 or 8 wt. range (< 8/9) and no lighter, since this will be my first high-end spey rod after spey casting for 10 years.

Comments on favorite rods for this would be welcome also. Right now I am leaning toward the Burkie 7141 or 8141, but hope to also try the Meiser 14-foot 7/8 Highlander.

--Bill

·
Junkyard Spey
7,114 Posts
Bill,
How does your present 7/8 line turn over those sparrows?

·
Registered
180 Posts
I've been using the wulff triangle taper for close to 4 years for casting waking muddlers using the Sage 7136 and Burkie 7141. As long as the day is not windy I can turn over that fly on a 15' leader out to 90 feet easily.

·
Registered
2,736 Posts
There is some discussion on this in the thread on skagit for summer use - I would think a skagit with a floating tip would easily turn over any fly you wanted to throw - despite what some would say, it is quite easy to manipulate the short heads and control your skater out to any normal distance you would be fishing a skater.

Any quality 7 wt spey rod should be able to meet your needs - I use my Scott ARC 1287 for skating quite a bit up on the N Umpqua and it handles the big flies easily

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts