Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Speyco reel that I have been using for about 3 years. It is loaded with dacron backing, then Miracle Braid running line. Last year, I notice that when it is cold out, the line would just pull off the reel without the spool turning. But it was not much of an issue as I could only pull off a small amount. I fished the reel earlier this season without issue, landing several steelhead. Last time out on the Columbia, it was cold again and it did the same thing, but a little worse. Yesterday I fished the Sandy with a guide, 38 degrees outside and same water temp. I went to pull line out and it came off easily without turning the spool at all. I am assuming the cold weather shrinks the spindle area of the spool causing this to happen? Any fixes for this besides not fishing in the cold?

Thanks,

Wayne

·
Registered
ACR, Echo DHII, Danielsson, Leland, Hardy, Rio, Airflo
3,850 Posts
Send Tim a Note

Does not sound like a mechanical issue maybe type of Line Backing or the way it has been spooled

Just a shot in the dark, hence the reference to Tim.. especially the cold weather variable

·
FISHIN' FREELANCER
1,425 Posts
Not sure how you've fixed the backing to spool? I always go around two - three times then affix with an arbor knot snugged up tight. Rewind back on with some tension. Has worked well so far.. best of luck.

·
Released to spawn
4,348 Posts
Finding the answer & solving the problem at the same time.

Go to a large field*.
Take a rod (or at least the butt section) and your reel.
Attach reel to reel seat.
Attach end of line with a bit of old leader to a fencepost.
Walk away from the fence, allowing all the line, running line & backing to unwind from the reel.
Check your backing attachment to the spindle of the reel.
Once happy, wind back all the line onto your reel at desired tension.

*beware of the bull!

Mike

·
Registered
124 Posts