Spey Pages banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I realize this has probably been asked before so I apologize if it's overy redundant. I'm starved for information and instruction so your help to this poor FNG is greatly appreciated.

I started out with a Loomis GL3 9wt and bought a RIO WC 8/9/10 line for it. I had a terrible time with the rod and ended up buying the 13' St Croix 7/8. My primary question is this: Am I way over-lining this rod with the WC 8/9/10? What is the best set up for this rod?

I may as well ask here too, are there any instructors of avid spey casters in New Jersey? I need help.

Thanks,

Scratch

·
Registered
200 Posts
The GL3 is a rod that, in my opinion, has to be seriously overlined. I had lots of problems with it before I went to a heavier line. I have no experience with Wind Cutters but I think that line should work fine with your St Croix. I use an 8/9 Mastery Spey with the same rod.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
The Rio WC 8/9/10 is reported to be 585 gr over 54.5ft; I've taught someone to cast with their 7/8 StCrx using a 7/8 Midspey which is reported to be 560 grains over 65ft and it felt like a pretty good match.

The problem may be when sinktips are added, in which case the 7/8/9 WC may be the better choice at 525gr over 54.5'. For instance, the type 8 tip or a custom made tip you cut from a shooting head, etc.

I am planning on organizing a speycasting gathering soon most likely at Quonny in Rhode Island's south cty when the albies are running inside the breachways. If that's not too far of a drive for you, it might work for you.

I noticed you are from NJ, a few questions:

- are you overhand casting or spey casting?
- are you fishing for stripers or other species?

I ask because a spey line is not necessarily the best overhand line, for that matter a spey rod is not the best overhand rod.

Also, the 7/8 StCx is a very light rod for stripers unless you're catching mostly schoolies.

·