Spey Pages banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any recommendations for lines that work well for speycasting with singlehanded rods? Specifically, sage 9ft 8wt SLT and a sage 10ft 8wt XP. Principle use will be summer steelheading with a floating line on small to medium Oregon and Washington waters.

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
Hey zail...

Have you tried using the lines you have now? While I'm not very good at it (I don't practice) I spey cast alright with my WF6F trout line on a 9'-6wt. I think any of the steelhead tapers sized for your rod and casting style would work, also the Airflo Delta and Rio WindCutter single hand lines.

·
Registered
439 Posts
Second to what Rob Allen has said, DT or the steelhead tapers that 3M or the Atlantic Salmon tape that RIO makes. You can use a regular WF. without the control that a DT or SH Taper gives you.
Leroy.................

·
Registered
322 Posts
Lines

I find that all the major manufactures lines work well for single handed spey fishing but my preference is for lines with belly lengths of 38 to 45 feet. The rods I use are Sage 796 RPII, 9100 RPII, and SLT 7100 all of these rods perform well with a variety of lines including lines with tips. I found that my 796 XP cast fine when casting in a straight line but did not do well for me when performing change of direction casts(spey casts).

·
BULL DOG!!!!
Gaelforce
1,909 Posts
My vote would be for the airflo Delta. If you are going to be speycasting only you might want to go up one line size than the line rate# on your rod as doing the spey requires a bit more weight. My 2cents.

·
Registered
239 Posts
I think the greatest versatility with single hand Spey casting can be acheived with the SA XXD lines; I find the Steelhead taper a bit too blunt and short. One can certainly use just about any line, but the longer belly tapers seem to work better.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Rio Steelhead Atlantic Salmon