Spey Pages banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
933 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, thanks to all of you who responded to my prior posts regarding this rod.

I have an older SA 7-weight Steelhead Taper line. Hvae anu=y of you used this line with a Sage 7136-4 (green) rod? If you have, what comments do have regarding that combination.

I have yet to learn how to use a two-handed rod and thought I might be able to learn the basics with that line and then decide on a more appropriate line. (As I write this I get the feeling that I should just go out and buy a Windcutter and start learning with that line.)

Thanks again for your comments.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
Bubba (Bob S of Seattle) used to fish that SA mastery line on the T&T 13ft 8wt and could throw it a mile. I have an 8wt SA steelhead mastery line and could give it a toss on my 7136-4 to tell you what I think, but that's an 8wt verses your 7wt.

I've fished the Rio 6-7-8 WC (w/ tips) on the 7136-4 and like it. I recently bought a 7/8 mid-spey to try a longer head on the rod. I will let you know what I think of that when I get a chance to throw it.

Already tried heavier mid-spey lines on my other rods - it casts very well on the 12'6" euro sage 9wt and the 10150-4 10wt 15 foot as well.

I wouldn't hurt to try it out for sh*ts and giggles. My guess is that it would be too light but you could certainly fish small with it. To load the blank enough to reach the other bank you might consider other lines.

The rod is so slow you won't overhand cast with it too effectively IMHO.

·
loco alto!
2,979 Posts
A 7 weight is light for the green Sage 7136 - doable - but not a learners line as it will not load well. An 8 or 9 suits me better, but again, that rod was made for a Triangle Taper 8/9 (now called TT8). Casts MUCH nicer than the windcutters on that rod.

A search under 7136 will get you more...

·
JD
3,609 Posts
7136-green