Spey Pages banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had CND Custom 13 ft. 7/8 wt. rod for a couple of months now and based on recommendations from others in this forum, including lots of other threads, I lined the rod with Rio's Midspey 7/8. After spending considerable "practice" hours on the river with the rod and that line I came to the conclusion that I don't particularly like that line for this rod.

I am not a beginner, but I am certainly in the novice spey caster category. I am not able to get much into the butt section with the midspey line. I wonder at my present skill level if I would more pleased with the Rio WC 7/8/9 or one of Courtland's SL lines? If I go with the WC line, is the 7/8/9 the best choice? Or, should I go a step heavier?

I do have experience with the WC line on a Diamondback 15' 10 wt. and I love it. The CND 13' rod will be used mostly on the Rogue, Klamath, and Deschutes for summer steelhead.

Thanks in advance for your advice and suggestions.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
Hi Shortstrike,

My personal preference (thus my recommendation) is the 6/7 midspey, not the 7/8 - but it certainly can handle the 7/8 for those who like a deeper load. That rod has been very popular for summer runs and I know several guys who love the 6/7 mid on it as well as I do.

For a shorter head I like the Windcutter 6/7/8 for that rod. It's somewhat easier to cast but requires that you start from no further than the back taper of the head each time or else there's just not enough grains / diameter to turn the thing over using the running line. It's predictable that way once you find the stroke though, and versatile with sintips, etc.

They're both very good lines for this model, but anything in the grain / length range will work.