Spey Pages banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last summer I built a 13' 3" Batson Rainshadow RX7 Spey Rod. I live in Ohio and primarily fish our tributaries for steelhead. I used Rio's skagit max short head for my switch rod and really loved it so I figured I'd use the same head for my spey rod. The only difference is I got the 525 gr skagit max long head since the spey rod is obviously a bit longer. The one thing I failed to factor into my choice was the speed of the rod. My switch rod is a very fast action rod and the spey rod is the complete opposite. It casts okay, but does not load and shoot the heavier skagit line near as well as my switch rod. Part of it could be my casting stroke, as I am still relatively new to spey casting. To me it feels like with it being a very slow action rod it would do better with a lighter head. Maybe I'm wrong and the real issue is me. I'm just am looking for a line/head that would be better matched with this rod, but still allow me to cast bigger streamers that we use here in the great lakes for steelhead. Any thoughts or suggestions?

·
Registered
2,403 Posts
I have had the 13' 7 wt Rainshadow in the original grey and in the newer burgundy. Had 'em at the same time, in fact. I throw the 480 Compact Skagit and 450 Steelhead Scandi on the burgundy one (still have it). I liked a 510 Compact Skagit on the grey one (the 480 was OK on it, too). It was a bit slower and more full flexing.

Both those heads are 24 ft long. I think yours is 27 ft. You are certainly in the ballpark with the 525 gr.

I'm willing to bet that the issue is the timing of the longer rod. Slow down and let it happen.

·
Registered
555 Posts