Spey Pages banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
loco alto!
2,979 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a newer version Sage 7136 that I like very much -- except for the very short bottom grip. I would like to either have the bottom cork lengthened 1.5", or have the entire grip/seat assembly rebuilt 1.5" higher up the blank.

I would like to hear pros/cons about either approach, and recommendations for getting the job done. I'm an amateur "rod kit" type of builder, and have never done any custom cork work.

THANKS

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
Custom work? Two words....

ROBERT MEISER!!

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Steve
Your "project' ,since you mentioned you've done some rodbuilding, would be a very simple task(and a highly recommeneded one for this rod.I have NO idea why Sage continues to build the 7136 ,this way.Check in the Speycasting archives and there should be a long thread on this subject.Adding 1 1/2 in. of cork to the butt section AND increasing lenght of the foregrip to 25 rings makes this rod a delight to work with.IMHO also you might want to increase the dia. of the cork to 1 1/2 in. I'd also sacrifice the reelseat instead of adding a spigot onto the butt section to make up the 1 1/2 inches.
Cheers and good luck
Brian

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
Stripping a rod butt is easy enough, but it's important not to be ham-handed. If you don't take care, you risk cutting through into the rod shaft. Cut the cork with a knife (try not to cry as you think of the wasted $). Cut diagonally through the reel seat with a hacksaw, or carefully remove it with a grinding wheel. Carefully file down the glue lumps; you don't have to get the blank shaft completely bare; a little unevenness makes for a better glue bond.