Spey Pages banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
two handed beginner here.

From what i've gathered here and in my research, the left hand controls the power input on final delivery. From my tournament casting (pendulum, beach casters), i have developed a good left hand technique not unlike that used in spey casting. We also have our reels in our left hands, and my fav rod length is 14'-2". As you can see, a 14 foot spey rod shouldn't feel too much different in my hands.

But, is it required to deliver the line over the top, or as in our casting, wouldn't a smoother delivery around the side be of benefit?

We used to cast over the top years ago, and some styles still do use it. But we soon discovered that a smooth trajectory with little change of line or sinker direction paid huge dividends.

I could of cause be talking absolute ****, but our style of straight left arm and 170 degree right arm, enables a bigger rod arc and smoother power delivery.

Lets assume that a good anchor point has 1 yard of line in the water plus leader, and that the line will travel where we point the rod top.

I'm standing in the water, with no wind.

And i generate an anchor downstream of me and the d loop is wide out behind me. If the loop is flat, does it make sense to change the direction of the line, or would a wide arc as per pendulum cast do better. Stiff left arm, 170 degree right drawing the line around the back of the caster and releasing as normal with an abrupt stop.

Forgive me if all this doesn't make sense.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Interesting style but I think you are over engineering the process.