Spey Pages banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to spey casting and I have to travel pretty far to get to a body of moving water. Is it possible to practice spey casting on a lawn? I was going to try to rig up a "fuzzy" line to simulate stick on the water. Has anyone else done anything like this? Thanks

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
Lawn Casting

Howdy Julian, Do a search on the forum using grass leader for a search term and you should find enough info on making a grass leader.
Take care, MJC

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
MJC, got you covered on the grass leaders.

Just make sure you make them the same length, or longer, than the leaders you'll be using on the water. 'Short' grass leaders just don't have enough 'stick' to allow you to load the rod properly.
fae

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks

Sorry that I didn't do a search before asking the question. I think that I have enough info to work with. I'll do some testing and hopefully I will be able to get to water at least once a month. Thanks for your help.

M

·
0 Posts
Far less proficient than I would like, I did overhear a comment made by Kush at the recent Marlow Bumpus clave that he attributes to Ed Ward and, that being, in effect, to keep your swing a little lower than normal to increase the loading effect. Or words to that effect, so help me god...

mmm

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
:>) Not to worry .... that's how you learn

to run the board. TONs of outstanding info on almost any subject you could possibly dream up having to do with fly fishing in general has been posted to the board.

And it's a good idea to bring up 'old stuff' as a 'new question' as the Board, like yourself, has a considerable number of new(er) posters.

:D
fae

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Julian,