Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This October some friends and I are heading out to the Thompson. We will be fishing from around the 23rd of October to the 1st of November. I've got the Thompson River Journal and I'm studying it like crazy.

I was hoping that somebody would have some tips on runs maybe not listed in the book, effective patterns, techniques, or any tricks. I would be really greatful.

Steve

·
Registered
200 Posts
Best time for grease lining, but the busiest time of the season. Everything you need to know is in Art's book. If the run is strong ,and that remains to be seen, they will be nicely spread from Martel down to Litton.
You need to have faith in your flies. I will be camped at Hilltop most of October and November--If the weather doesn't get miserable into mid-December as well. I'm at the far end of the campground--stop out and say hello.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
With my limited experience there is nothing I could tell you that you haven't already read, but Dana's advice on the oil-slick and bowling ball smooth rocks is no laughing matter... unless you're the others guys while I insisted I could get by without a wading staff! They had a good laugh while I looked like a cat trying to walk on a skating rink. :hehe:

Stout boots that can't be compressed from the sides are also important, getting the foot crushed between two rocks can be a hazard in current as well.

I believe that there are no unlisted shortcuts to nirvana; the place is huge in all respects, the river is broader than broad, but if you work hard and put your best flies forward the fish are accordingly big and as strong as anything nature produces with fins.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
What about big orange prawns?

Dana & Juro
Thanks for the info. Juro, if you don't mind we wil stop by and visit.