Spey Pages banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I attempted to tie two of Ed Ward's Intruders last night. I think they turned out okay, but they are kinda freakin' me out. They are HUGE! This one is on a 2.5" tube and seems huge to me.

I have only seen them online, so I am not sure about the scale. I didn't have all the materials and had to make do with what I have around. I really can't afford to buy all this stuff.

I would appreciate any advice. I followed Ed Ward's pattern from Jack's site and from the one Kush found in forum and just posted again the other day.

Rear Hackle-

Deke's Spey Hackle (imitation heron with huge stems) this is my first time working with this stuff and it is a pain! Doesn't wrap very well. Should I be splitting it like the pheasant tail? The package says not to expect more than 2-3 turns and to steam the feather prior to use.

Feelers-

Tons of ostrich plume tied in separately around the tube. How long should these be? Do you trim the feathers after finishing the fly, or do you tie them to fit? The only colors I have now are from tying scuds and sowbugs on the Bighorn in MT- so kinda limited there. (gray and pink)

Pheasant Tail per Kush's prep- I was pleasantly surprised at how well this palmered. It is really buggy. At first, I thought there is no way this stuff is going to wrap. But, it was hard to find good section of feather after splicing it.

I wonder what I am doing wrong in the prep? How many good pieced does one average per tail? The whole thing? One?

Body-

I used some sparkly chenille I had from tying crawfish patterns for the Lower Madison. It worked alright but looks kinda goofy. I have Estaz, but only in bright colors, and I was going for a darker look.