Spey Pages banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was assisted with my reorganization of my windcutter sink tips collection by my grandson the other day. Removing the little tags which indicated what the sink rate was for each of the six tips.

I do have the little ID card that Simon gave me at the Sandy clave...but some of the tips didn't seem to correspond to the color codes described on the card.

Question: How can I definitively determine the actual sink rate of each tip section?

I am hoping there is a simple way to do this...I'm no rocket scientist. :Eyecrazy:

·
Registered
224 Posts
If all the tips are the same line weight, you can just go by the thickness of the tip. The thinner the tip, the faster it sinks (higher density). If it's Big Boy 24' tips we're talking, the opposite applies. Thicker is heavier. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmmmm...15 feet.

Well that's no only very helpful, but simple to boot. It's all relative from there.

Even a bottle rocket scientist like me can figure these tip sink rates now.

Thanks Undertaker!

·
Registered
121 Posts
Good Luck Babe

I have all too much experience w/ this problem and no youngster to help me share the blame. My recollection is that all are 15' long. The Type 3 tips are usually a bit lighter in color, ( brownish ), and larger in diameter. The type 6 are darker in color, ( dark brown or grey ), also larger in diameter. The type 8 are darker in color, but unique in their smaller diameter. I believe all are tapered, but often difficult for the eye to discern. The rod end will have the factory loop on it and the fishing end either no loop or your personally applied loop. I've been told that 8 weight through 10 weight lines all share the same sink tips. Having shared that, I know of no way to discriminate a 15' 8 wt type 6 from a 15' 10wt type 6 other than a scale or by fishing them. Give that kid a hug, just because.

·
JD
3,641 Posts