Spey Pages banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
622 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to spey casting. I was told I could use my 9-weight shooting head on my 6/7 spey rod. The head, however, is 38 feet; so the problem I'm having is that the bump where the loop connectors join is killing my casts unless I have the whole shooting head outside the tip. (When I do the line casts fine, but I don't have enough running line outside the rod tip to retrieve a lot of line.)

I know I'd be better off with a real spey line, but after buying the new rod money is tight now.

Thanks so much,

Randyflycaster

·
Released to spawn
4,348 Posts
This is one of the possible problems with a shooting head.

Shooting heads are really designed primarily for casting and fishing at distance, ie 'shooting' the running line behind the cast head. Then, if you strip back as part of the fishing method (rather than just strip back to retrieve prior to casting again), then most usually you will strip back until just the head is outside the tip top ring, so that you are ready for the staged setup for the next cast.

However, from what you say, it appears that you strip back the head well into the guides, ie you are fishing back to well less than the 38' of head, and thus you WILL have difficulty in setting up for the next cast.

Without breaking the bank, and for fishing into very close quarters, go for an 'end of range' WF or DT line, correctly weighted for your rod; these lines are not much in demand, and are often selling for $10-15 a line.

Just a few thoughts.

Mike

·
Registered
1,526 Posts