Spey Pages banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Cliff notes: Light wire hooks are great for dryflies but can straighten out. More stout hooks eventually sink and need bulk or artificial materials to stay atop.
Wood World Font Wood stain Hardwood

Wood Line Hardwood Font Rectangle

I like the S10s but the Hends hook seems to check off the correct boxes.

鈿燩.S. note that sz 10 in one brand is significantly different in size than another brand.

馃棧Ramblings of a nut:geek::
Dry fly hooks for steelhead (possibly salar - which I have no experience with) are a different quest. Obviously, the hook has to be light enough to float but stout enough to keep from straightening out on larger specimens.

Tyers usually mitigate the sinking tendency of the more stout dryfly hooks with more hair or artificial means (such as foam). Others might prefer to go lighter on materials which require even lighter hooks to keep afloat. I have been swayed to the latter option.

A few years ago, Josh from the Royal Treatment Fly Shop turned me on to Gamakatsu S10 downeye dryfly hooks. They're a good compromise of light wire and some strength with a very sticky point. I really prefer downeye hooks for my knot preference. So the S10s fit the bill.

They will not bend out when the steelhead runs and fights; however, when it's time to land the fish another story ensues. Steelhead tend to twist, flip-flop, or gator roll : these fight-or-flight reactions really can torque the Gamakatsu s10s. I have had a few large steelhead straighten out the hook (only when attempting to land the fish).

Sky Cloud Water Wood Twig

I have tried other downeye hooks:
Mustads, Daiichis to name a couple - but they just didn't do as well compared to the s10s when tying Steelhead Bees.
I even went as far as using deer hair/cdc bodies on the Steelhead Bees to keep Mustads on the surface. They did okay.
Flower Plant Pollinator Arthropod Petal