Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself to this cool board.
I may be a newbie on this board because it's a recent dicovery, but I am not a newbie to steel. I hooked my first steel in '77 and I've been at it since.

You may ask yourself, what is a vodoofly? Hey it's me and you! I tie my patterns listening to Jimi and Deep Purple. Therefore, I have a connection to my brothers in WA and England. Just now I've finished tying some leech type paterns listening to "little wing" and countless others to "machine head". You can guess that I like to use black and purple in my patterns! Anyways, good to know my fellow steelheaders. Please don't dis me because I'm Great Lakes. I am hard core! I was out last Friday and it was like dipping candles out there. You hardcores know what I mean. Every cast adding another layer of ice. It's a beech fly fishing when everything ices up in -5 below wind chill. In no time it was like casting a 400 grain sinker using a float line. Anyways, just wanted to say hi and thank the Great River spirit.

vodoofly

·
Registered
459 Posts
Voodoofly,

Welcome lots of hard core GLs and PNW steelheaders here. Yes I know about the cold GLs steelheading. Was out my self a week and a half ago in the warmup to the 40s.

Got to love that screen name. LOL

PM Out

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Welcome

"well I stand up next to a mountain - and I knock it down with the edge of my hand

I say fly on , fly on - I am a Voodoo child" :smokin:

·
Registered
14 Posts
Voodo,

Jimi is my inspirational tying music as well...especially Band of Gypsies! No harm in listening to some creative genius while searching for new patterns at the vise :devil: Dont' think twice about GL steelheading - you'll find a lot of us easterners enjoy and respect the fishery. Especially when employing a deadly fly I call "Third Stonefly from the Sun"

Welcome,

D

·
Relapsed Speyaholic
5,393 Posts