Spey Pages banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone tried these Heritage light weight shanks? I haven't tied on tubes or shanks but I'm going to give these a go. I picked up some 35mm. Rob

Attachments

·
Registered
15 Posts
I have and think you'll enjoy them.. keeping in mind a shank is a shank so its kinda hard to compare haha... shoot, even a needle is a great shank to a man in need.

·
inglorious 2hander
1,048 Posts
I have been tying on heritage shanks for 2 yrs now.I REALLY LIKE EM.
Heritage shanks are superior to the partridge in my opinion, and I do not like the senyo shanks at all.
Tho just about everything else that greg senyo has is top shelf imho.

Heritage shanks and senyo lazer wire
Is a great combo!

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Have any of you tried tying with Scott Howell's method. Its a small mono loop tied at the rear on top of the shank. Your tippet then goes through the eye then through the small loop and a small piece of junction tubing and ties to your hook with a small loop. The knot is then pulled up into the junction tubing. I hope this makes sense. Rob

·
Registered
873 Posts
Rob,

While you surely could use that method of rigging HAP Classic Shanks, one of the preferred methods (at least for me, at any rate) is to use a loop of 30 or 40 lb. Fire Line as is shown in the below SBS:

Lay down a base of gel spun thread onto the shank.

Lash down the Fireline loop wrapping forward from the back, putting the tag ends thru the eye of the shank.

Pull the Fireline under the shank and wrap it back towards the end of he shank, trim and wrap the thread forward and back again an extra time or two for security’s sake.

Change over from gel spun thread to a lighter gauge to reduce bulk and tie in the marabou tail and schlappen feather.

Dub body and palmer the schlappen forward.

First collar of schlappen.

Second collar of mallard or Egyptian goose flank.

Tie in marabou wing.