Spey Pages banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to speycasting. I purchased a used Sage 8136 and am looking for an appropriate reel and line. Any advice would be welcome! Thanks

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
A Lamson Velocity 4 will work nicely on that rod. For a an all around versatile line I would go for a WC 8/9/10.

·
Registered
88 Posts
I am new to speycasting. I purchased a used Sage 8136 and am looking for an appropriate reel and line. Any advice would be welcome! Thanks
I just picked up a lightly used 8136 for $370 I'm planning on using a velovity 4 as well. how much did you spend on your rod?

·
Registered
88 Posts
Thanks for the input. I paid US 350
I paid a little more $370 just curious what they were worth I haven't seen a whole bunch forsale to compare. I have 5 other lamsons a P2, LS3.5, LS2, V3and a V2 for my single handers and they are awsome reels very reliable and low maintance. What lines are you planning on casting on your 8136? Cheers!

Respectfully -CamD

·
Registered
417 Posts
I would avoid Lamson. Try a used Ross Big Game, a Daniellson HD is a great choice or a Marquis Salmon 2 for a non-drag reel. Galvan's are nice, too

·
Banned
1,241 Posts
Danielsson HD and LW reels have in my and many other opinion (North America and Scandinavia) the best, sealed, smooth like a butter drag system available on the market. It is maintenance free, looks great and cost less then others due to direct sale from the factory.
maintenance free and cost less then other due to direct sale from factory.

Zb

·
Registered
417 Posts
agreed. if you fish with a drag, HD and LW are the among the best out there - and the price is ridiculous.

·
Registered
88 Posts
I would avoid Lamson.

Please elaborate, I've had great success with them so far. What would cause you to avoid them?

Respectfully -CamD

·
Registered
81 Posts
Bad clutch